## Help Approved for 10 Additional California Counties

Release Date: ?? 11, 2023

**SACRAMENTO, Calif.** – The White House announced an Amendment to the Emergency Declaration today authorizing FEMA to extend Direct Federal Assistance to 10 additional counties in California.

The declaration provides assistance for emergency protective measures, authorized under Title V of the Stafford Act, to save lives and to protect property and public health and safety, or to lessen or avert the threat of a catastrophe as the state and tribal nations endure waves of bad weather.

The addition of Alameda, Contra Costa, Fresno, Kings, Lake, Madera, Mono, San Benito, San Francisco, and Tulare, brings the total to 41 of the states 58 counties.

This amendment was a result of ongoing damage assessments conducted at the request of the state, which are ongoing.

The additional 10 counties join Colusa, Glenn, Humboldt, Marin, Orange, San Diego, San Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Solano, Sutter, Tehama, Yolo, Yuba, El Dorado, Los Angeles, Mariposa, Mendocino, Merced, Monterey, Napa, Placer, Riverside, Sacramento, San Bernardino, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Sonoma, Stanislaus, and Ventura counties which were designated earlier this week.

The Emergency Declaration authorizes FEMA to identify and task federal agencies to mobilize federal equipment, supplies and resources requested by the state to perform emergency protective measures in identified counties.

###

FEMA's mission is helping people before, during and after disasters.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status. If you or



someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362) 711/VRS - Video Relay Service). Multilingual operators are available. (Press 2 for Spanish). TTY call 800-462-7585.

