## **President Joseph R. Biden, Jr. Approves Emergency Declaration for South Carolina**

Release Date: September 27, 2024

WASHINGTON -- FEMA announced today that federal disaster assistance is available to the state of South Carolina to supplement response efforts due to emergency conditions resulting from Hurricane Helene beginning Sept. 25 and continuing.

The President's action authorizes FEMA to coordinate all disaster relief efforts to alleviate the hardship and suffering caused by the emergency on the local population and to provide appropriate assistance to save lives, to protect property, public health and safety and to lessen or avert the threat of a catastrophe.

Federal funding is available to state, tribal and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency protective measures limited to direct federal assistance and reimbursement for mass care including evacuation and shelter support for Aiken, Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Beaufort, Calhoun, Chester, Colleton, Edgefield, Fairfield, Greenwood, Hampton, Jasper, Kershaw, Lancaster, Lexington, McCormick, Newberry, Orangeburg, Richland, Saluda, Sumter, Union and York counties.

Federal funding is available for emergency protective measures including direct federal assistance for Abbeville, Anderson, Cherokee, Greenville, Laurens, Oconee, Pickens and Spartanburg counties.

Finally, federal funding is also available for emergency protective measures limited to direct federal assistance for Berkeley, Charleston, Chesterfield, Clarendon, Darlington, Dillon, Dorchester, Florence, Georgetown, Horry, Lee, Marion, Marlboro and Williamsburg counties.

Brett H. Howard has been named the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area.?



Page 1 of 1

04/04/2025