President Joseph R. Biden, Jr. Approves Emergency Declaration for North Carolina

Release Date: August 7, 2024

WASHINGTON -- FEMA announced today that federal disaster assistance is available to the state of North Carolina to supplement response efforts due to emergency conditions resulting from Tropical Storm Debby beginning Aug. 5, 2024, and continuing.

The President's action authorizes FEMA to coordinate all disaster relief efforts to alleviate the hardship and suffering caused by the emergency on the local population and to provide appropriate assistance to save lives, to protect property, public health and safety and to lessen or avert the threat of a catastrophe. Specifically, FEMA is authorized to identify, mobilize and provide, at its discretion, equipment and resources necessary to alleviate the impacts of the emergency.

Emergency protective measures, limited to direct federal assistance and reimbursement for mass care including evacuation and shelter support, will be provided at 75% federal funding for Alamance, Anson, Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Carteret, Caswell, Chatham, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Davidson, Duplin, Durham, Edgecombe, Forsyth, Franklin, Granville, Greene, Guilford, Halifax, Harnett, Hoke, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Martin, Montgomery, Moore, Nash, New Hanover, Northampton, Onslow, Orange, Pamlico, Pender, Person, Pitt, Randolph, Richmond, Robeson, Rockingham, Sampson, Scotland, Vance, Wake, Warren, Wayne and Wilson counties.

Emergency protective measures, limited to direct federal assistance, will be provided at 75% federal funding for Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Davie, Gates, Hertford, Hyde, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Stokes, Surry, Tyrrell, Washington and Yadkin counties.

Rodriqus L. McAllister has been named Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected areas.



Page 1 of 1