President Joseph R. Biden, Jr. Approves Major Disaster Declaration for Kentucky

Release Date: February 28, 2022

WASHINGTON -- FEMA announced that federal disaster assistance has been made available to the commonwealth of Kentucky to supplement commonwealth and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by severe storms, straight-line winds, tornadoes, flooding, landslides and mudslides from Dec. 31, 2021 to Jan. 2, 2022.

Federal funding is available to commonwealth and eligible local governments and certain private non-profit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by severe storms, straight-line winds, tornadoes, flooding, landslides and mudslides in Boyd, Breathitt, Carter, Christian, Clay, Floyd, Green, Johnson, Knott, Lawrence, Owsley, Pike and Taylor counties.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for the entire commonwealth.

John Brogan has been named Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected areas. Additional designations may be made at a later date if warranted by the results of further damage assessments.



Page 1 of 1