President Donald J. Trump Signs Emergency Declaration for the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands

Release Date: October 21, 2019

WASHINGTON — FEMA announced that federal emergency aid has been made available to the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands to supplement commonwealth and local response efforts to the emergency conditions in the area affected by Typhoon Bualoi beginning on October 20, 2019, and continuing.

The President's action authorizes FEMA to coordinate all disaster relief efforts which have the purpose of alleviating the hardship and suffering caused by the emergency on the local population, and to provide appropriate assistance for required emergency measures, authorized under Title V of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, to save lives, to protect property, public health and safety, and to lessen or avert the threat of a catastrophe in the Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas Islands.

Specifically, FEMA is authorized to identify, mobilize, and provide at its discretion, equipment and resources necessary to alleviate the impacts of the emergency. Emergency protective measures (Category B), limited to direct federal assistance under the Public Assistance program, will be provided at 75 percent federal funding. This assistance is for the municipalities of Rota, Saipan, Tinian and the Northern Islands.

Teresa Serata has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal response operations in the affected area. Serata said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the commonwealth and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

###



FEMA's mission is to help people before, during and after disasters.

Follow FEMA online at www.fema.gov/blog, <a href="www.fema.gov/blog, <a

The social media links provided are for reference only. FEMA does not endorse any non-government websites, companies or applications.

