President Donald J. Trump Approves Major Disaster Declaration for South Dakota

Release Date: September 24, 2019

WASHINGTON – FEMA announced that federal disaster assistance has been made available to the state of South Dakota to supplement state, tribal and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by severe storms and flooding beginning on May 26 to June 7, 2019.

Federal funding is available to the state, tribal, eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by these severe storms and flooding in Aurora, Bennett, Brule, Butte, Campbell, Custer, Deuel, Fall River, Gregory, Haakon, Hamlin, Hanson, Jackson, Jones, Lyman, Meade, Mellette, Pennington, Sanborn, Todd, Tripp, Turner, Union, Walworth, and Ziebach counties and the Cheyenne River Sioux Reservation and the Rosebud Reservation.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

James R. Stephenson has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Stephenson said additional designations may be made at a later date if warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

###

FEMA's mission is to help people before, during and after disasters. Follow FEMA online at <u>www.fema.gov/blog</u>, <u>www.twitter.com/fema</u>, www.twitter.com/FEMAespanol, <u>https://www.facebook.com/FEMA</u>,



Page 1 of 2

www.facebook.com/FEMAespanol and www.youtube.com/fema. Also, follow Acting Administrator Pete Gaynor's activities @FEMA_Pete. The social media links provided are for reference only. FEMA does not endorse any non-government websites, companies or applications.



Page 2 of 2

Page printed at fema.gov/press-release/20250121/president-donald-j-trump-approves-major-04/28/2025 disaster-declaration-south-dakota-0