State/FEMA Disaster Recovery Center Opens in Sioux Falls

Release Date: June 17, 2019

PIERRE, SD – The State of South Dakota and the Federal Emergency Management Agency have opened a disaster recovery center in Minnehaha County to offer in-person support to individuals and businesses impacted by the severe winter storms and flooding from mid-March to late April 2019. This follows the opening of centers in Yankton County and on the Pine Ridge Reservation last week. Additional locations around the state may be opened, depending on need.

Representatives from the State of South Dakota, FEMA, the U.S. Small Business Administration, and other organizations are at the centers to explain available assistance programs and help connect survivors with resources that best match their recovery needs.

The Minnehaha County center is located at:

Southeast Technical Institute 2000 N. Career Ave. Ed Wood Center, Room 205 Sioux Falls, S.D. 57107

Hours of Operation are Monday thru Saturday 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. local time.

Individuals can visit any of the centers for assistance. Use the FEMA mobile app, or visit www.fema.gov/DRC for center locations and times.

Homeowners, renters and businesses should register for disaster assistance before visiting a recovery center. There are several ways to register:

- Go online to <u>DisasterAssistance.gov</u> or <u>DisasterAssistance.gov/es</u> (for Spanish).
- Use the FEMA mobile app in English or Spanish.



Page 1 of 2

Call the disaster assistance helpline at 800-621-FEMA (3362) or 800-462-7585 (TTY) anytime from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. local time seven days a week until further notice. Multilingual operators are available.

All recovery centers are accessible to people with disabilities. Centers have assistive technology to aid in communication. Survivors may follow these links to access informational videos in ASL:

- Requesting an interpreter (ASL) <u>www.fema.gov/media-library/assets/videos/172199</u>
- Disaster Recovery Centers (ASL) <u>www.fema.gov/media-library/assets/videos/127259</u>

The South Dakota counties now designated for Individual Assistance are: Bon Homme, Charles Mix, Hutchinson, Minnehaha, and Yankton; the Pine Ridge Reservation to include the counties of Oglala Lakota, Jackson, and Bennett; the Rosebud Reservation to include the counties of Mellette and Todd; and the Cheyenne River Sioux Reservation to include the counties of Dewey and Ziebach.

