Disaster Survivors in Eight Additional Missouri Counties May Apply for Disaster Assistance

Release Date: July 14, 2017

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. – Homeowners, renters and business owners in Christian, Crawford, Dent, Greene, Iron, Ste. Genevieve, Wayne and Wright counties may apply for federal disaster assistance for eligible losses caused by severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds and flooding between April 28 and May 11, 2017.

The eight counties have been designated for inclusion in the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)'s Individuals and Households Program (IA).

Individual Assistance was extended to those counties after a review of ongoing damage assessments by Missouri's State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA) and FEMA.

Those counties are in addition to the following 27 counties already eligible for IA assistance: Bollinger, Butler, Carter, Douglas, Dunklin, Franklin, Gasconade, Howell, Jasper, Jefferson, Madison, Maries, McDonald, Newton, Oregon, Osage, Ozark, Pemiscot, Phelps, Pulaski, Reynolds, Ripley, Shannon, St. Louis, Stone, Taney, and Texas.

Survivors are encouraged to register with FEMA as soon as possible. The deadline to register for assistance is **Tuesday**, **Aug. 1**, **2017**.

Survivors may register in one of the following ways:

■ Call the FEMA Helpline at 800-621-3362. Survivors who use 711 or Video Relay Services may call 800-621-3362. If 711 is unavailable use MO Relay 800-735-2966; CapTel 877-242-2823; Speech to Speech 877-735-7877; VCO 800-735-0135. Multilingual operators will be available from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. seven days a week until further notice. Those who use TTY may call FEMA



Page 1 of 2

directly at 800-462-7585.

- Go online to www.DisasterAssistance.gov.
- Use the FEMA app for smartphones.

SBA offers low-interest disaster loans to businesses of all sizes, most private nonprofit organizations, homeowners and renters. The deadline to apply for an SBA low-interest disaster loan also is **Aug. 1, 2017**.

SBA also offers low-interest working capital loans (called Economic Injury Disaster Loans) to small businesses and most private nonprofit organizations having difficulty meeting obligations as a result of the disaster. The deadline to apply for an Economic Injury Disaster Loan is March 2, 2018.

Survivors are encouraged to apply online using SBA's electronic loan application at disasterloan.sba.gov/ela.

Survivors who are contacted by SBA regarding a low-interest disaster loan application should complete and submit the application as soon as possible. Returning the application does not obligate the survivor to accept an SBA loan, but it is a necessary step to be considered for other forms of disaster assistance.

For more information, you may contact SBA's Disaster Assistance Customer Service Center by calling 800-659-2955, emailing disastercustomerservice@sba.gov, or visiting SBA's website at SBA.gov/disaster. Deaf and hard-of-hearing individuals may call 800-877-8339.

