FEMA Offers Repair, Rebuilding Advice at Lowe's Home Improvement Stores in Newton, Phelps, St. Louis and Taney Counties

Release Date: June 10, 2017

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. – As Missourians repair or rebuild their homes damaged by the flooding and severe storms that occurred April 28-May 11, 2017, FEMA and Lowe's Home Improvement Stores in Newton, Phelps, St. Louis and Taney counties have teamed up to provide free information, tips and literature on making homes stronger and safer.

FEMA mitigation specialists will be on hand from Sunday, June 11 to answer questions and offer home improvement tips along with proven methods to prevent or reduce damage from future disasters as well as offer tips and techniques to build hazard-resistant homes. Most of the information and the free publications provided are geared for do-it-yourself work and general contractors.

A FEMA representative also will be available to assist with disaster assistance registration.

Recovery topics to be covered include flood insurance, elevating utilities and rebuilding flooded homes.

FEMA advisors will be available from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Sunday, June 11 through Monday, June 19 and from 7 a.m. to noon on Tuesday, June 20 at the following locations:

Lowe's Home Improvement

165 Mall Road

Hollister, MO 65672



Page 1 of 2

Lowe's Home Improvement

1212 Kirkwood Road

Kirkwood, MO 63122

Lowe's Home Improvement

2300 N. Bishop Ave.

Rolla, MO 65401

Lowe's Home Improvement

1490 Clemon Drive

Neosho, MO 64850

Free reference booklets with information on protecting your home from flood damage will be available at all locations. More information about strengthening property can be found at www.fema.gov/what-mitigation.

Missouri survivors who have questions about their flood insurance policies and coverage should call the FEMA Helpline at **800-621-3362** (Option 2) for voice, 711 and Video Relay Service. If you are deaf, hard of hearing or have a speech disability and use a TTY, call **800-462-7585**. Specialists can help with service claims, provide general information regarding policies and offer technical assistance to aid in recovery.

The federal disaster declaration covers eligible losses caused by flooding and severe storms between April 28 and May 11, 2017 in these counties: Bollinger, Butler, Carter, Douglas, Dunklin, Franklin, Gasconade, Howell, Jasper, Jefferson, Madison, Maries, McDonald, Newton, Oregon, Osage, Ozark, Pemiscot, Phelps, Pulaski, Reynolds, Ripley, Shannon, St. Louis, Stone, Taney, and Texas.



Page 2 of 2