President Joseph R. Biden, Jr. Approves Major Disaster Declaration for South Dakota

Release Date: 8? 16, 2024

WASHINGTON -- FEMA announced that federal disaster assistance is available to the state of South Dakota to supplement recovery efforts in the areas affected by severe storms, straight-line winds and flooding from June 16 to July 8, 2024.

The President's action makes federal funding available to affected individuals in Davison, Lincoln, Turner and Union counties. Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Federal funding is also available to state, tribal and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms, straight-line winds and flooding in Aurora, Bennett, Bon Homme, Brule, Buffalo, Charles Mix, Clay, Davison, Douglas, Gregory, Hand, Hanson, Hutchinson, Jackson, Lake, Lincoln, McCook, Miner, Minnehaha, Moody, Sanborn, Tripp, Turner, Union and Yankton counties.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Edwin J. Martin has been named Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected areas. Additional designations may be made at a later date if warranted by the results of damage assessments.

Individuals and business owners who sustained losses in the designated areas can begin applying for assistance by registering online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov, by calling 1-800-621- 3362 or by using the FEMA
App. If you use a relay service, such as video relay service (VRS), captioned telephone service or others, give FEMA the number for that service.

