Mobile Disaster Recovery Centers Coming to South Dakota Counties

Release Date: 6? 22, 2019

PIERRE, SD – The State of South Dakota and the Federal Emergency Management Agency are sending mobile Disaster Recovery Centers to five counties across the state to offer in-person support to individuals and businesses that suffered losses from the severe winter storms and flooding from mid-March to late April 2019. This follows openings of fixed-site Disaster Recovery Centers in Minnehaha and Yankton counties, Pine Ridge Reservation, and the Rosebud Reservation.

The first of these mobile centers will be opening on Wednesday, June 26, in the city of Martin in Bennett County. Representatives from the state, FEMA, U.S. Small Business Administration, and other organizations will staff the mobile centers to explain available assistance programs and help connect survivors with resources that best match their recovery needs.

All Disaster Recovery Centers are open Monday through Saturday 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. local time.

West River Route: Martin (Bennett County)

Wednesday June 26-Saturday June 29 Bennett County School Activity Center 400 Bennett Ave., Martin, SD 57551

Kadoka (Jackson County)

Monday July 1-Wednesday July 3 Kadoka Fire Hall 810 Main St., Kadoka, SD 57543

White River (Mellette County)

Monday July 8-Thursday July 11
Mellette County Emergency Services Building
415 North Roosevelt Ave., White River, SD 57579



Page 1 of 2

East River Route: **Tabor (Bon Homme County)**

Monday July 1-Wednesday July 3

Tabor Fire Hall

122 South Lidice St., Tabor, SD 57063

Lake Andes (Charles Mix County)

Monday July 8-Thursday July 11 County 4-H Building

100 School St., Lake Andes, SD 57356

Individuals can visit any of the centers for assistance. Use the FEMA mobile app, or visit www.fema.gov/DRC for fixed-site center locations.

If possible. homeowners, renters and businesses should register for disaster assistance before visiting a recovery center. There are several ways to register:

- Go online to <u>DisasterAssistance.gov</u> or <u>DisasterAssistance.gov/es</u> (for Spanish).
- Use the FEMA mobile app in English or Spanish.
- Call the disaster assistance helpline at 800-621-FEMA (3362) or 800-462-7585 (TTY) anytime from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. local time seven days a week until further notice. Multilingual operators are available.

All recovery centers are accessible to people with disabilities. Centers have assistive technology to aid in communication. Survivors may follow these links to access informational videos in ASL:

- Requesting an interpreter (ASL) <u>www.fema.gov/media-library/assets/videos/172199</u>
- Disaster Recovery Centers (ASL) <u>www.fema.gov/media-library/assets/videos/127259</u>

The South Dakota counties now designated for Individual Assistance are: Bon Homme, Charles Mix, Hutchinson, Minnehaha, and Yankton; the Pine Ridge Reservation to include the counties of Oglala Lakota, Jackson, and Bennett; the Rosebud Reservation to include the counties of Mellette and Todd; and the Cheyenne River Sioux Reservation to include the counties of Dewey and Ziebach.

