FEMA Announces Eight Municipalities Approved for \$39 Million in Community Disaster Loans

GUAYNABO, Puerto Rico – FEMA approved more than \$39 million in low-interest community disaster loans to help eight municipalities continue essential operations while focusing on their long-term recovery from hurricanes Irma and María.

The municipalities approved for \$5 million each are: Aguadilla, Cabo Rojo, Canóvanas, Carolina, Manatí, Mayaguez, and Peñuelas. The municipality of Orocovis is approved for \$4.1 million.

In April, FEMA approved more than \$53.7 million in community disaster loans for 12 municipalities. The municipalities of Bayamón, Caguas, Humacao, Juncos, Ponce, Toa Baja and Trujillo Alto have been approved for \$5 million each. Río Grande has been approved for 4.65 million, Sabana Grande for 2.47 million, Salinas for 2.97 million, San Lorenzo for 3.7 million and Yabucoa for 4.9 million.

The loans will provide municipalities with the resources and flexibility to continue delivering essential services to their communities while they recover from the storms.

Loan applications are pending for additional municipalities to help with their essential functions.

President Trump signed supplemental appropriations funding on Oct. 26 permitting the transfer of up to \$4.6 billion to FEMA's Community Disaster Loan Program.

Hurricanes Irma and María made landfall in Puerto Rico in September, with María coming ashore as a Category 5 two weeks after Irma. For more information on Puerto Rico's recovery, visit fema.gov/disaster/4339.



Page 1 of 2

###

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362) 711/VRS - Video Relay Service). Multilingual operators are available. (Press 2 for Spanish). TTY call 800-462-7585.

Follow us at:

www.fema.gov/hurricane-maria

www.facebook.com/femapuertorico

www.twitter.com/femaregion2



Page 2 of 2

Page printed at fema.gov/ko/news-release/20200220/fema-announces-eight-municipalitiesapproved-39-million-community-disaster 04/18/2025