## President Joseph R. Biden, Jr. Approves Major Disaster Declaration for Puerto Rico

Release Date: Septanm 22, 2022

WASHINGTON -- FEMA announced today that federal disaster assistance has been made available to the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico to supplement territorial and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by Hurricane Fiona beginning Sept. 17 and continuing.

The President's action makes federal funding available to affected individuals in 55 municipalities within the Commonwealth including Adjuntas, Aguas Buenas, Aibonito, Arroyo, Barranquitas, Bayamón, Caguas, Canóvanas, Carolina, Cataño, Cayey, Ceiba, Ciales, Cidra, Coamo, Comerío, Corozal, Dorado, Fajardo, Florida, Guayama, Guayanilla, Guaynabo, Gurabo, Humacao, Jayuya, Juana Díaz, Juncos, Lares, Las Piedras, Luquillo, Maricao, Maunabo, Morovis, Naguabo, Naranjito, Orocovis, Patillas, Peñuelas, Ponce, Río Grande, Salinas, San Juan, San Lorenzo, Santa Isabel, Toa Alta, Toa Baja, Trujillo Alto, Utuado, Vega Alta, Vega Baja, Vieques, Villalba, Yabucoa and Yauco.

Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, lowinterest loans to cover uninsured property losses and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

You can apply for disaster assistance at <a href="www.DisasterAssistance.gov">www.DisasterAssistance.gov</a>, by calling 800-621-3362 or by using the FEMA App. If you use a relay service, such as video relay service (VRS), captioned telephone service or others, give FEMA the number for that service.

Public assistance federal funding is available to the Commonwealth, eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations for all 78 municipalities for debris and emergency protective measures, including direct federal assistance.



All municipalities in the Commonwealth are also eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

Thomas J. Fargione has been named the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected areas. Additional designations may be made at a later date.

