President Joseph R. Biden, Jr. Approves Emergency Declaration for New York

Release Date: Out 22, 2021

WASHINGTON -- FEMA announced that federal emergency aid has been made available to the state of New York to supplement state, tribal and local response efforts to the emergency conditions in the areas affected by Tropical Storm Henri, beginning on Aug. 21 and continuing.

The President's action authorizes FEMA to coordinate all disaster relief efforts which have the purpose of alleviating the hardship and suffering caused by the emergency on the local population, and to provide appropriate assistance for required emergency measures, authorized under Title V of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, to save lives, protect property, public health and safety and to lessen or avert the threat of a catastrophe.

Specifically, FEMA is authorized to identify, mobilize, and provide at its discretion, equipment and resources necessary to alleviate the impacts of the emergency. Emergency protective measures, including direct federal assistance and reimbursement for mass care including evacuation and shelter support, will be provided at 75% federal funding. This assistance is for Albany, Bronx, Broome, Chenango, Columbia, Delaware, Dutchess, Greene, Kings, Montgomery, Nassau, New York, Orange, Otsego, Putnam, Queens, Rensselaer, Richmond, Rockland, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Suffolk, Sullivan and Westchester counties.

Lai Sun Yee has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal response operations in the affected areas.

