President Joseph R. Biden, Jr. Approves Major Disaster Declaration for Kentucky

Release Date: Décembre 13, 2021

WASHINGTON -- FEMA announced that federal disaster assistance has been made available to the Commonwealth of Kentucky to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by severe storms, straight-line winds, flooding and tornadoes beginning Dec. 10, 2021, and continuing.

The President's action makes federal funding available to affected individuals in Caldwell, Fulton, Graves, Hopkins, Marshall, Muhlenberg, Taylor and Warren counties. Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the storms, winds, flooding and tornadoes.

Federal funding is also available to the state and local governments, and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work in Caldwell, Fulton, Graves, Hopkins, Marshall, Muhlenberg, Taylor and Warren counties.

Lastly, federal funding is available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for the entire commonwealth.

John Brogan is the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Additional designations may be made later if warranted by the results of damage assessments.

Residents and business owners who sustained losses in the designated areas can begin applying for assistance by registering online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov or by calling 1-800-621- 3362 or 1-800-462-7585 TTY. If you use a relay service, such as video relay service (VRS), captioned telephone service or others, give FEMA the number for that service."

