## **Disaster Recovery Center Opens in Victoria County**

Release Date: Décembre 18, 2017

**AUSTIN, Texas** – A State of Texas/Federal Disaster Recovery Center will open Tuesday, Dec. 19, 2017, in the city of Victoria (Victoria County).

Disaster recovery centers offer in-person support to individuals and businesses in counties included in the Texas federal disaster declaration for Hurricane Harvey and the subsequent floods. The new center is at the following location:

## Hilton Garden Inn

123 Huvar St. (In the LaSalle III Conference Room) Victoria, Texas 77901

Hours: Monday-Saturday, from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.;

Sunday Noon to 5 p.m.

Follow the signs to the exterior entrance where the survivors/public can access the DRC without having to enter the hotel.

Disaster recovery centers offer in-person support to individuals and businesses in counties included in the Texas federal disaster declaration for Hurricane Harvey. Recovery specialists from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), the State and other agencies will be at the new DRC.

Disaster recovery centers are accessible to people with disabilities, and are equipped with assistive technology equipment such as amplified telephones, phones that display text, amplified listening devices and magnifiers. Video Remote Interpreting is available and in-person sign language is available by request. The



centers also have accessible parking, ramps and restrooms.

American Sign Language interpreters are available to assist at a DRC. Requests can be made via text message at **(470) 379-5943**. Survivors will need to provide their name, the address of the DRC they will be visiting, the date and time of their visit and the type of sign language they are requesting. All requests for help should be made at least 24 hours in advance of a DRC visit to ensure assistance is available.

Homeowners, renters and businesses in Aransas, Austin, Bastrop, Bee, Brazoria, Caldwell, Calhoun, Chambers, Colorado, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Grimes, Hardin, Harris, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Karnes, Kleberg, Lavaca, Lee, Liberty, Matagorda, Montgomery, Newton, Nueces, Orange, Polk, Refugio, Sabine, San Jacinto, San Patricio, Tyler, Victoria, Walker, Waller and Wharton counties may be eligible for help.

For more information on Hurricane Harvey and Texas recovery, visit the Hurricane Harvey disaster web page at <a href="http://www.fema.gov/disaster/4332">www.fema.gov/disaster/4332</a>, or Facebook at <a href="http://www.facebook.com/FEMAharvey">http://www.facebook.com/FEMAharvey</a>, the FEMA Region 6 Twitter account at <a href="twitter.com/FEMARegion6">twitter.com/FEMARegion6</a>, or the Texas Division of Emergency Management website at <a href="http://www.dps.texas.gov/dem/">www.dps.texas.gov/dem/</a>.

