Floyd, Knott, Owsley, Pike Counties Eligible for Additional FEMA Public Assistance

Release Date: agosto 7, 2022

FRANKFORT, Ky. – Local governments and certain nonprofit organizations in Floyd, Knott, Owsley and Pike counties are now eligible for FEMA Public Assistance grants for debris removal and permanent work to repair public facilities that were damaged by the July flooding.

These counties, along with Clay, Breathitt, Floyd, Johnson, Knott, Leslie, Letcher, Magoffin, Martin, Owsley, Perry and Wolfe counties were previously approved for reimbursement for emergency protective measures.

The major disaster declaration for Kentucky flooding also has been amended to authorize a 100 per cent federal cost share for debris removal and emergency protective measures, including direct federal assistance, for a continuous 30-day period of the Commonwealth's choosing within the first 120 days for Clay, Floyd, Knott, Martin, Owsley, Perry and Pike counties.

FEMA's Public Assistance program provides reimbursement to local and state government agencies for the costs of emergency response, debris removal and restoration of disaster damaged public facilities and infrastructure. Houses of worship and other nonprofit organizations may also be eligible for FEMA Public Assistance.

For the latest information on Kentucky flooding recovery, visit femagov/disaster/4663 and follow us on Twitter at twitter.com/FEMARegion4.

