Fact Sheet: Disaster Case Management Program

Release Date: febrero 12, 2019

Disaster Case Management is fully funded by FEMA, managed by North Carolina Emergency Management and implemented by Endeavors for the first six months. The program involves a partnership between a case manager and a disaster survivor to develop and carry out the survivor's long-term recovery plan. The services, provided through a grant from FEMA, are available to anyone impacted by Hurricane Florence.

This partnership gives the survivor a single point of contact to help develop:

An assessment of verified disaster-caused unmet needs

A plan that outlines the steps necessary to achieve recovery

Identification of available resources

The case manager will:

Monitor the survivor's progress toward goals

Provide client advocacy, when necessary

Long-term unmet needs may include financial, physical, emotional or spiritual wellbeing, as well as referrals for materials and/or manpower to provide support to survivors in their recovery. The case manager helps households return to a state of independence. Individuals who may have suffered losses not covered by state or local government programs, as well as those whose homes were damaged by the storm, may benefit from the case management services.

North Carolina requested that FEMA approve the program for use in the counties affected by the flooding that followed Hurricane Florence.



The grant can provide direct case management services for up to 24 months. The state has contracted with experienced case managers who will work in conjunction with faith-based and volunteer organizations to help meet survivors' unmet needs.

People who had damage and losses associated with Hurricane Florence and its aftermath had until Dec. 19, 2018 to register with FEMA for disaster assistance.

Survivors can contact the Disaster Case Management service provider through email at: DCMNC@Endeavors.org or by calling one of the two offices depending on where they live:

Residents of Anson, Bladen, Brunswick, Chatham, Columbus, Cumberland, Durham, Guilford, Harnett, Hoke, Johnston, Lee, Moore, New Hanover, Orange, Richmond, Robeson, Sampson, Scotland and Union counties should call the Fayetteville office at (910) 672-6175.

Residents of Beaufort, Carteret, Craven, Duplin, Greene, Hyde, Jones, Lenoir, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Pitt, Wayne, and Wilson counties should call the Jacksonville office at (910) 378-4913.

###

