## **President Donald J. Trump Signs Emergency Declaration for Georgia**

Release Date: Oktober 11, 2018

WASHINGTON -- The U.S. Department of Homeland Security's FEMA announced that federal emergency aid has been made available to the state of Georgia to supplement state, tribal and local response efforts due to the emergency conditions in the area affected by Hurricane Michael beginning on Oct. 9 and continuing.

The President's action authorizes FEMA to coordinate all disaster relief efforts which have the purpose of alleviating the hardship and suffering caused by the emergency on the local population, and to provide appropriate assistance for required emergency measures, authorized under Title V of the Stafford Act, to save lives and to protect property and public health and safety, and to lessen or avert the threat of a catastrophe.

Specifically, FEMA is authorized to identify, mobilize, and provide at its discretion, equipment and resources necessary to alleviate the impacts of the emergency.? As part of the Public Assistance Program, assistance for debris removal and emergency protective measures (Categories A and B), including direct federal assistance, will be provided at 75 percent federal funding. This assistance will be provided to Baker, Bleckley, Burke, Calhoun, Colquitt, Crisp, Decatur, Dodge, Dooly, Dougherty, Early, Emanuel, Grady, Houston, Jefferson, Jenkins, Johnson, Laurens, Lee, Macon, Miller, Mitchell, Pulaski, Seminole, Sumter, errell, Thomas, Treutlen, Turner, Wilcox, and Worth counties .?

In addition, assistance for emergency protective measures (Category B), limited to direct federal assistance through the Public Assistance program, will be provided at 75 percent federal funding for Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Baldwin, Ben Hill, Berrien, Bibb, Brantley, Brooks, Bryan, Bulloch, Butts, Camden, Candler, Charlton, Chatham, Chattahoochee, Clarke, Clay, Clinch, Coffee, Columbia, Cook, Crawford, Echols, Effingham, Elbert, Evans, Glascock, Glynn, Greene, Hancock, Irwin, Jasper, Jeff Davis, Jones, Lamar, Lanier, Liberty, Lincoln, Long, Lowndes, Marion, McDuffie, McIntosh, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Muscogee,



Page 1 of 2

Oconee, Oglethorpe, Peach, Pierce, Putnam, Quitman, Randolph, Richmond, Schley, Screven, Stewart, Talbot, Taliaferro, Tattnall, Taylor, Telfair, Tift, Toombs, Twiggs, Upson, Ware, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Webster, Wheeler, Wilkes, and Wilkinson counties.?

Manny J. Torro has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal response operations in the affected area. Torro said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of damage assessments.

###

FEMA's mission is to help people before, during and after disasters. Follow FEMA online at www.fema.gov/blog, www.twitter.com/fema, www.twitter.com/FEMAespanol, www.facebook.com/fema, www.facebook.com/FEMAespanol and www.youtube.com/fema. Also, follow Administrator Brock Long's activities at www.twitter.com/fema\_brock. The social media links provided are for reference only.?FEMA does not endorse any non-government websites, companies or applications.



Page 2 of 2

04/29/2025